PDA

View Full Version : sound familiar to anyone


terrine
30-12-2002, 08:07 AM
there is an auction for a white twin mirror xy on sold.com

http://au.page.sold.yahoo.com/au/auction/511672232 ?aucview=0x10

on inspecting the bidders i found one that has a negative 2 rating..... i thought these guys were suspended??????

currymuncher101 (-2) 1200.00 AUD 1

check out his form.........

3 auctions with negative comments by 2 unique users
1 auctions with neutral comments by 1 unique users


Comment:Buyer requested COD, thendid not accept the models due to financial issues. (Nov 26 10:41)

Comment:**********None Paying Bidder******** (Nov 20 16:22)

Comment:NOT WORTH THE TIME (Nov 13 21:43)

Comment:NOT WORTH THE TIME (Nov 13 21:45)

sound familiar
sure does to me

he is still out there
becareful sellers and bidders

r/peter

ps perry did you publish his details on your site?

Aussiecollector
30-12-2002, 08:22 AM
Current High Bid is unrated, Must be a Newbe but name suggests that they are not unfamiliar with the game. It may be another of the alias used by the Halfwit that was on here justifiing his existance.

Glenn

BATHURSTFAN
30-12-2002, 08:35 AM
I just don't understand these sort of people, whats their game?

Do they get off wasting people's time & money ?

Jed
30-12-2002, 09:18 AM
Well, based on allegations made about this particular seller in a previous thread (and my own research, which tends to support those allegations), I will not be bidding on ANYTHING that is offered by this seller...

Keep The Shiny Side Up!!

Ed. C.

perry
30-12-2002, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by terrine

ps perry did you publish his details on your site?


No, only one person had the balls to let me publish his name with his claims (christian name, not surname), so i figured if they dont have the guts to stand by there word, i cant be bothered doing it for them.

I think thats fair enough?

terrine
30-12-2002, 08:08 PM
the purpose of this post was to allert contributors to the re emergence of our pal heward....the phantom bidder.

i was at no time time denouncing the seller of that twin mirror who appears to have plenty of positive history.

currymuncher101 (-2) who has used a number of other nicks in the past and upset many auctions and sellers was the focus of my post

r/peter

Jed
30-12-2002, 09:23 PM
G'day Peter,
The intent of your post is understood...
However, to see what I'm getting at, you may wish to go back
(5 pages) to the thread "Bad News # 2"
(thread starter AMBER ROSE), and read the post by monaro_mad..
Then check the bid history on (current & closed) auctions by the seller in question, and I think you'll see a rather disturbing pattern...
I stand by my previous comments..

Keep The Shiny Side Up!!

Ed. C.

7Litre
31-12-2002, 08:13 AM
I believe that these Auction Sites are the 'Black Market' of the Diecast Realm. It's attracting the 'Dark Side' of people's nature to sell a Model at a price that is fair to both Seller and Buyer.

It is simple fact and formula, if you "Can't afford it, Don't buy it".

There will be always be people that will prey on people's naivity
but when selling they are trying to get best price possible.

On the other hand, I heard a Bloke took his collection to 'Cash Converters' and got only "$5" a models, obviously he so desperate to sell it didn't matter what got for it.

Regards 7Litre...

Monaro_Mad
31-12-2002, 11:39 AM
Jed is right.

Originally posted by Jed
Well, based on allegations made about this particular seller in a previous thread (and my own research, which tends to support those allegations), I will not be bidding on ANYTHING that is offered by this seller...


Although this post was originally about Currymuncher101 the seller of this auction "Gunshotgannon1" also needs to be brought to everyones attention. And it has nothing to do with the amount of positive feedback he has!

Had anyone thought that this seller is simply up to his old tricks again! The new bidder for $1750 at a guess is simply another GunshotGannon alias pushing his price up. Just like he did with HotFord302 for $1500.

Those of you who do not know what I am talking about, please refer to the earlier post "Bad News #2".

This seller has been around the auction scene for at least 4 years that I know of and deals in 'alot' of diecast. His items are genuine but final price, maybe not!

It is greed that drives people to do this, something that most dedicated collectors hate with a passion.

Be aware that people can, and are cheating the auction systems and there is nothing you can do about it. There is nothing in the terms and conditions about "Dummy Bidders" so we have to live with it.

This is not the only seller doing this, I have been watching it happen for years. I never posted earlier so not to give other potential fraudsters any ideas. But I guess the cats out of the bag now.

Really its simple, only pay what you are comfortable with. Do not get pressured with a bidding war in the final few minutes unless your completely confident. Do your research and know what models average sale price is by using the 'Search Closed Auctions' feature. And do not buy because you think you will miss out, believe me it isn't the last model on the planet!

There is nothing worse than that feeling in your guts after a high ticket win you weren't to sure of and seeing the same item sell for half the price elswhere.:confused:

Happy collecting to all and may you have a great New Year :D

Aussiecollector
31-12-2002, 12:04 PM
He certainly likes to talk himself up in the feed back department.

terrine
07-01-2003, 09:55 PM
ok i am converted
just thought i would recheck his current sold.com.au auctions

BIANTE XY GTHO WHITE TWIN MIRROR

bianteking (unrated) 1850.00 AUD 1 Jan 07 22:12
modelsdownunder (1) 1800.00 AUD 1 Jan 07 22:05

BIANTE XY GTHO MOFFAT 65E RARE

modelsdownunder (1) 550.00 AUD 1 Jan 07 22:07
darcysmodelcars (9) 499.00 AUD 1 Dec 31 18:40

BIANTE XY GTHO TRACK RED RARE

modelsdownunder (1) 690.00 AUD 1 Jan 07 22:06
otherjen90 (18) 655.00 AUD 1 Jan 07 18:58

BIANTE XW GTHO MOFFAT 64E RARE

bianteking (unrated) 405.00 AUD 1 Dec 29 22:14
hotford302 (3) 400.00 AUD 1 Dec 29 18:55

EVIDENCE DEFEATS DISBELIEF

r/peter

Aussiecollector
08-01-2003, 03:56 AM
Terrine

Is darcysmodelcars one of the ford302 alias's, if so that would explain the over inflated prices on www.darcysmodelcars.com.au.

Glenn

Jed
08-01-2003, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by Aussiecollector
Terrine

Is darcysmodelcars one of the ford302 alias's, if so that would explain the over inflated prices on www.darcysmodelcars.com.au.

Glenn

Glenn,
darcysmodelcars (dalesford) is a legit. buyer, and THAT explains their pricing on "obsolete" models...
He's apparently not aware of the dirty tricks used by some sellers to push up prices...

Keep The Shiny Side Up!!

Ed. C.

terrine
08-01-2003, 09:08 AM
sorry i should have made mention that their appeared to be one legit bidder...darcys in amongst the off the wall bids
i just posted the last 2 bids on each of those auctions

r/peter

The Judge
08-01-2003, 02:37 PM
5.5 Manipulation. Neither you, nor any other bidders or sellers may manipulate the price of any item, nor may you interfere with other users' items listed for sale. For further information please refer to (http://pages.ebay.com.au/help/community/investiga tes.html).

Pasted above is an excerpt from Ebay's rules.
This type of rule applies to all auctions.
It is against the law to place shill bids and/or manipulate an auction of any kind. It is fraud.
I purchase quite a bit on Ebay both here and overseas. I don't think I've been duped yet but there are a lot of wackos out there, so I keep my guard right up.
All the best
Pete