PDA

View Full Version : This must be a new record...


Three_o_seven
13-11-2002, 08:40 AM
I was just browsing Sold.com.au and I couldnt believe my eyes a Peter Brock 28c Torana with a bid of $510 with just over 3hrs remaining.....dont get me wrong they are a magnificent model and i love mine to death but you can still get them for around $200....makes you wish you had a few spare doesnt it..lol :D

Three_o_seven
13-11-2002, 08:44 AM
I thought the Torana was doing well........Dick's Sierra $540 with 6 days to go.......im gob smacked....lol

Renz Man
13-11-2002, 09:05 AM
Add to that list - a couple of weeks ago a Biante white 1/43 HK Monaro went for $300 bucks! It's still available on this website for approximately $50!

the_goldie
13-11-2002, 12:42 PM
I can not understand why you would pay over $500 for a model signed?! It has been discussed at lengths before and some prefer it others don't but when it is almost 3x the amount of the car for a signature....

Three_o_seven
13-11-2002, 12:47 PM
It would be cheaper to buy one new drive to brissie and have the whole workshop sign it.

john
13-11-2002, 12:59 PM
I wonder if these sellers get their mates to put these ridiculous bids in for these cars?..... Hopefully they can then "lure" someone who is not so up to date on these cars. $510 is astonishing, hard to believe.

SWRT
13-11-2002, 02:52 PM
$510 maybe a record on a action website but that overpriced petrol station at Homebush charge around $700-$950 for a Brock 28C Torana 1/18.

the_goldie
13-11-2002, 04:44 PM
Who in their right mind would pay that much for the 28c???!!! I have never been to this shop at homebush and if I did I know that I would walk straight out! That is crazy! :eek:

goxu1
13-11-2002, 05:11 PM
I wonder if these sellers get their mates to put these ridiculous bids in for these cars?..... Hopefully they can then "lure" someone who is not so up to date on these cars. $510 is astonishing, hard to believe.

I thought the same thing John.
I noticed both highest bidders were (new) - no previous history
This pointed to a scam to me....?....

modelcarmad
13-11-2002, 07:42 PM
Brock 28c closed at $510.00. :confused: I couldn't believe it either. There was a cheaper one on auction at the same time. Makes you wonder what some people think. While we are on this type of subject, there is also 3 Dick Johnson Sierras on bid at the moment $275.05 +$520 (signed) +540.05 (signed) and ONE buyer had the highest bid on all 3. Win lotto or what??????

Nick Short
14-11-2002, 12:22 AM
More likely a speculator imagining that the bubble will never burst and he can make a tidy profit even after paying those prices! Reminds me of Nigel Mansell, who bought a Ferrari F40 at the height of the UK's silly classic car price bubble in the early '90s, paid £1 million and sold it shortly afterwards for £200k-odd! I still have adverts from that time, with E-type Jags going for £100k plus, and no matter what stupid prices were being asked, people were paying them! My heart bled when it all collapsed around them, I can tell you. It got to the point where you could sell your place on the waiting list for a new Ferrari/Porsche/Jag for twice list price of the car! When the Jag XJ220 came out there was a non-refundable deposit of £50k just to get on the waiting list, and speculators thought that even after paying the balance of the £415k list price they'd make a profit by selling on immediately. Of course it all went pear-shaped and these vultures started whingeing that it wasn't fair and they didn't want their car now.
So at some point the bubble must surely burst, but as long as people pay these fantastic sums for Biantes then sellers will carry on asking them. I guess it shows the quality and desirability that we all enjoy, although it doesn't explain Trax prices.....

mic
14-11-2002, 06:12 AM
When you check auctions at sold.com.au, make sure you check the bidding history too. Recently I?fve noticed that many bids were false bids. It?fs either from people who has 0 feedbacks, or user names like ?gsucker2002?h.

A good example is here:

http://au.page.sold.yahoo.com/au/show/bid_hist?aID =511461683&aucview=closed

and here too:

http://au.page.sold.yahoo.com/au/show/bid_hist?aID =511479430&aucview=closed

I don?ft really believe some bids on auction sites. If you check them carefully, you will notice that some sellers actually bid on their own items with a new user name, just to pump up the price!

HDT 4 EVER
14-11-2002, 07:29 AM
I have just been to collectormania . com. dick johnson sierra $650 also white twin mirror $2000 like i have said before youv,e got to be joking lets just hope no one pays these stupid prices if they do what sort of money are the xc twin sets gona fetch in a years time lets face it there only models.


daryl

Three_o_seven
14-11-2002, 08:43 AM
$2000 for a twin mirror???.....hmmmm.....I have just discovered a new career, Im going to make a few hundred left hand mirrors and make my fortune. Just think I could sell the mirror for $1500 each atatch them to a $500 dollar XY and hey presto....

Dont worry guys I am joking:D

terrine
14-11-2002, 08:56 AM
I don?ft really believe some bids on auction sites. If you check them carefully, you will notice that some sellers actually bid on their own items with a new user name, just to pump up the price!

thats a very bold statement, and probably incorrect

both vendors of these auctions have conducted many transactions with both incurring only 1 negative buyer response.

it is more likely that a serial pest is at work attempting to disrupt the settlement of these auctions with no intention of completing the transaction. i have spoken to auction sellers and whilst not prevalent it does occur.

it was only months ago that i noticed somebody was interfering with for sale items on the buy/sell/swap pages of this website

r/peter

terrine
14-11-2002, 09:19 AM
twin mirrors

the original twin mirrors released, the track red and (some) ultra white promo models (the model in question) had a slight indent on each door to accomodate the mirrors. this was carried through on later models on the drivers side door only as they were all single mirrored. the later release of the vermillion fire and quicksilver had no indent on either door.

if you look at your models you will see what i mean.
after all, the promo twin mirrors were only repainted track red body shells.

thats how you can tell an original twin mirror and apparently there arent many of them....so if you find one cheap...you buy it

r/peter

mic
14-11-2002, 11:08 AM
Hi Peter

I just changed the order of my statement. Those 2 examples were to meant to show you guys that some people use obvious false user names. (e.g., sucker2002... etc)

Sorry if I have caused any misunderstanding. I know the seller cosworthrs.sold and he is 100% OK.

brchi17
14-11-2002, 01:25 PM
I've bought several items on sold over the past 18mths & have found that you need to check who you are dealing with before you place a bid (no, I have not been burnt!!!).

DO NOT rush in & place a bid before first checking out who is selling & be sure to have a look at their previous sales, as a reference of what they will be like to deal with.

I've found that the people who are offering Mastercard, Visa, etc.. are usually toy/hobby shops & they are usually a safe bet.

Just make sure you make plenty of communication with them & you won't have any troubles (touch wood!!!)

Remember, if you don't want it, don't bid!!!!!!!!
cheers.

jamie harris
14-11-2002, 04:05 PM
I have a 28c for sale...advertised for$220+ post but plenty of "hits" but no sale..I PAYED MORE THAN THAT FOR IT !Anybody who gets $300+ not be a genuine collector!...jamie

loste_treasures
14-11-2002, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by mic
When you check auctions at sold.com.au, make sure you check the bidding history too. Recently I?fve noticed that many bids were false bids. It?fs either from people who has 0 feedbacks, or user names like ?gsucker2002?h.

A good example is here:

http://au.page.sold.yahoo.com/au/show/bid_hist?aID =511461683&aucview=closed

and here too:

http://au.page.sold.yahoo.com/au/show/bid_hist?aID =511479430&aucview=closed

I don?ft really believe some bids on auction sites. If you check them carefully, you will notice that some sellers actually bid on their own items with a new user name, just to pump up the price!



I totally agree about the last paragraph of what has been said. Im a regular user of Internet Auctions and i have noticed that on both auctions two bidders are actually sellers of the same products !!! I wont say who they are but if you are like me, you know who they are

7Litre
26-11-2002, 02:01 PM
Today I came across 'The Great White Shark' of Rip Off Merchants in the Diecast Car Sellers. Going into a quaint little antique shop out in the middle of nowhere, but half an hour from anywhere, he had some Diecasts there. After seeing the prices he had advertised, I thought it would a good idea to go to my local hardware store and purchase a few more deadbolts.

EG: Trax's Black FJ $800.00 but worth about $250.

It's just what people will try to sell their collection for and some naive tourist could pay for.